Caterpillar Reveal Show – Málaga 2017

Night Of The Challenger

For four weeks, the Caterpillar Demonstration and Learning Center in Málaga became the epicentre of one of the most important product launches in the international machine manufacturer’s history.

The creative idea behind “Night of the Challenger” reinterprets the Caterpillar Training Center in Málaga, showing the innovative generation of products in its “natural” environment. It completely transforms the “outdoor sandbox” used for training and product demonstration purposes into a stunningly new space with a spectacular multimedia experience.

„That was a fantastic show! I don’t think I have seen anything like that in my 28 years of Caterpillar.“

Zach Kauk – Vice President Excavation Division

The ultimate multimedia show.

The reveal show on the night before the product launch was the ultimate multimedia experience: The open air performance used projection mapping to create an extraordinary media display spanning over 4,500 m2, measuring 100 wide and 45m deep. 14 high-performance projectors with a total output of over 280,000 ANSI lumens combined to create an amazing high-resolution 5k media production, an impressive spectacle that filled the massive outdoor space.

At the heart of the action was a 12m large cube, which served as an additional projection surface and concealed the new product generation. A double drop curtain, characteristic of kabuki, incorporated the product reveal into the overall story of the presentation in two striking highlights.

Storytelling in three acts.

The 16-minute evening show takes the audience through three chapters in the world of Caterpillar, spanning the company’s beginnings in the early 20th century to the latest challenges in this era of digital transformation.

Suspense built from act to act during the entire show, supported by key moments dedicated to the Caterpillar brand and its history. The focus of the story was on technical innovation – from the first products in the company’s early history to the reveal of the new, revolutionary product generation.

Original condition of earth

Caterpillar’s first innovation: the chain-driven dozer

Caterpillar company history

World map

The cube awakes, sending out pulses of energy

Excavators hit the ground – sending out “shock waves”

The cube becomes a digital display for presenting the product USPs

Suspense builds to the reveal – with an image of a “real excavator” as an illusion

Two-step reveal with kabuki drop curtain

New excavator performs a “solo”

Movements of the new product generation produce waves of energy

Product family bows to its new member

The motion and sound design, along with all graphic media, were created and composed especially for this occasion in just four months. This gave the world premiere an entirely new, innovative character beyond the familiar Caterpillar corporate design.

A total of 1,500 people witnessed the multimedia spectacle over six nights.

Credits:

tisch13 – Idea, concept, design, overall management, lead agency and general contractor

Urbanscreen – Media production

intermediate Engineering – Technical planning

PRG Germany – Media technology

Sound design – Feldhaus & Wasserfall, Michael Meinl

Caterpillar Reveal Show – Málaga 2017

Night Of The Challenger

Für einen Zeitraum von vier Wochen wird das Caterpillar Demonstration and Learning Center in Málaga zum Epizentrum einer der wichtigsten Produkteinführungen in der Geschichte des internationalen Baumaschinenherstellers.

Die kreative Idee zur „Night of the Challenger“ interpretiert dabei das Caterpillar Trainingscenter in Málaga neu und inszeniert die innovative Produktgeneration in ihrem „natürlichen“ Umfeld. Dazu wird der für Trainingszwecke und Produktdemos genutzte „Outdoor-Sandkasten“ durch ein multimediales Spektakel in eine überraschende räumliche und mediale Erfahrung verwandelt.

„That was a fantastic show! I don’t think I have seen anything like that in my 28 years of Caterpillar.“

Zach Kauk – Vice President Excavation Division

Multimedia-Show der Superlative.

Die Reveal Show am Vorabend der Produktvorstellung ist eine Multimedia-Show der Superlative: Die Open-Air-Performance bespielt eine Fläche von über 4.500 qm auf einer Gesamtfläche von 100m Breite und 45m Tiefe mit Projection Mapping. 14 Hochleistungsprojektoren mit einer Gesamtleistung von über 280.000 AnsiLumen sorgen dabei für eine beeindruckende und flächendeckende Bespielung der Outdoor-Arena in einer hochauflösenden 5k Medienproduktion.

Im Zentrum der Inszenierung steht ein 12m großer Kubus, der als zusätzliche Projektionsfläche und Verhüllung für die neue Produktgeneration dient. Über einen doppelten Fallvorhang (Kabuki) wird die Produkt-Enthüllung in zwei markanten Highlights in die Gesamtdramaturgie eingebettet.

Storytelling über drei Akte.

Die 16-minütige Nacht-Show führt die Zuschauer über 3 Kapitel in die Welt von Caterpillar und schlägt einen großen Bogen von den Anfängen des Unternehmens Anfang des 20. Jahrhunderts bis hin zu den großen aktuellen Herausforderungen in einem Zeitalter der digitalen Transformation.

Der didaktische Showaufbau berücksichtigt einen stetigen Anstieg der Spannung von Akt zu Akt. Diese wird getragen durch dezidierte SchlüsseImomente der Showinszenierung, die stets einen inhaltlichen Bezug zur Marke Caterpillar und deren Geschichte aufweisen. Inhaltlich im Fokus steht das Themenfeld der technischen Innovation, von den ersten Produkten der frühen Unternehmenshistorie bis hin zur Enthüllung der neuen, revolutionären Produktgeneration.

Urzustand der Erde

Die erste Innovation von Caterpillar: der kettenbetriebene Dozer

Caterpillar Unternehmenshistorie

Weltkarte

Der Kubus erwacht und sendet Impulse aus

Bagger schlagen auf Boden – „Schockwellen“ breiten sich aus

Kubus wird zum digitalen Display – Vorstellung Produkt-USP’s

Spannungsaufbau Enthüllung – Illusionsbild „realer Bagger“

Zweistufige Enthüllung über Kabuki-Fallvorhang

„Solotanz“ des neuen Baggers

Bewegungen der neuen Produktgeneration lösen Impulswellen aus

Produktfamilie verneigt sich vor ihrem neuen Mitglied

Das Motion- und Sound-Design sowie die gesamte grafische Bespielung wurde speziell für diesen Anlass in 4-monatiger Arbeit neu konzipiert und komponiert, um der Weltpremiere einen komplett neuen und ungesehenen Charakter abseits des Caterpillar Corporate Design zu verleihen.

Insgesamt sehen 1500 Zuschauer an 6 Abenden das Multimedia-Spektakel.

Credits:

tisch13 – Idee, Konzept, Design, Gesamtsteuerung, Lead-Agentur und Generalübernehmer
Urbanscreen – Medienproduktion
intermediäre Engineering – Technische Planung
PRG Germany – Medientechnik
Sound-Design – Feldhaus & Wasserfall, Michael Meinl